© 2023 Dr Margaret Sheppard

Deities Hierarchy Ceremonies Sakra Guardians Twelve Deities

The Four Guardian Deities

(See sub sections for further information of each Deity)

Vishnu - Although Vishnu is originally a Hindu Deity, the Buddhists have adopted him as a Buddhist Deity often referring to him as Uppalavanna).  He is the ruler of the West.

Saman - ruler of the Hill Country and the North

Kataragama - (Hindu name is Skanda), - ruler of the South

Vibhishana or Natha - ruler of the East